GameRooster.com Forums



Go Back   GameRooster.com Forums > Support Forums > Chat Room FAQ

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:29 PM
rednecklaura's Avatar
rednecklaura rednecklaura is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 3,192
Resolving Common Chat Problems

My web browser reports "load: class Client not found" error when loading SigmaChat, ICE, or RaiderCSS
The Load class Client not found error is among the most notorious of Java applet error messages, and can be caused by a number of different problems. Usually, this problem indicates that your web browser has downloaded/ cached an invalid copy of our chat software (cache instability or an error in download). Minor network glitches between your computer and RaiderSoft's servers can also cause the problem. Ninety-nine percent of the time, the problem can be resolved by emptying your browsers cache (or Temporary Internet Files), then shutting down all instances of your web browser, and trying again. In rare circumstances, a reboot may be required.

To empty your browser's cache using Microsoft Internet Explorer:

Click on Tools from your browser's main menu.
Select Internet Options
Under the General tab, click Delete Files... in the Temporary Internet files section.
Important: Shutdown all open instances of your web browser.

To empty your browser's cache using Netscape:

Click on Edit from your browser's main menu.
Select Preferences
Select and expand the Advanced category.
Click on Cache
Under Set Cache Options:
Click Clear Memory Cache
Click Clear Disk Cache
Click OK
Important: Shutdown all open instances of your web browser.

When I attempt to open the Java™ applet, I see a blank gray box only.
My web browser reports a "bad magic number" error when loading SigmaChat, RaiderCSS, or ICE
When I attempt to open the Java™ applet, I see a red checkbox only.
Try emptying your browser's cache first (see above). Remember to shut down all instances of your web browser after emptying the cache (temporary internet files). If this does not work, it is possible that you do not have Java™ installed. Please visit Sun's Free Java™ Download Site to download and install Java. Java is the most powerful extension to web technology today, and no web browser is complete without it!

When I attempt to open the chat room, a message appears telling me to install software. What is wrong?
You need to install Java™ support (see above) On most computers, you can simply follow the on-screen directions to have Java™ installed for you automatically by your web browser. If this fails, we strongly encourage you to visit Sun's Free Java™ Download Site to download and install Java. Java is the most powerful extension to web technology today, and no web browser is complete without it!

My Macintosh computer is having various problems with SigmaChat.
SigmaChat is not supported on Macintosh OS 8.x and below systems. SigmaChat runs best on OS X when using MSIE, Netscape or Mozilla. When using OS 9 we recommend using MSIE only. Problems have been reported when using the Safari browser.

I connect to to the internet with AOL, but am unable to login to the Java™ applet.
Do not use the built-in AOL web browser. Instead, use the web browser (usually Microsoft Internet Explorer) that was included with your computer/operating system.

When I click "Login" nothing happens, or a message appears telling me that it cannot connect, or that I have been disconnected. What is wrong?
First, check to make sure that all of our chat servers are online. Check here. If a server is offline, simply wait a few minutes. It is extremely rare that our chat servers go down, and we have automated systems in place to ensure they are back up and running within 10 minutes of going down. Secondly, and the most likely scenario, is that you are using a computer restricted by a firewall; see below:

I am using a computer behind a firewall, or in a work/education environment. How can I connect?
For SigmaChat, you, or your network administrator, will need to allow TCP access on ports 8000 through 8009 at client.sigmachat.com. On some LAN firewalls, you may simply set the security setting to "Low" while you wish to use our chat software.

For ICE and RaiderCSS, you, or your network administrator, will need to allow TCP access on ports 45000 through 45199 at css.raidersoft.com and ice.raidersoft.com (respectively). On some LAN firewalls, you may simply set the security setting to "Low" while you wish to use our chat software.
__________________
I CAN ONLY PLEASE ONE PERSON A DAY...
TODAY IS NOT YOUR DAY..
AND TOMORROW DOESNT LOOK GOOD EITHER!!!!!!!

YFIS LAURA

www.geocities.com/rednecklaura
www.geocities.com/Outlaw_Laura
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2004, 07:30 PM
richardr's Avatar
richardr richardr is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 373
Thanks

Thanks Laura for the in foe it will help lots of folks .
YFIS
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2004, 08:24 PM
rednecklaura's Avatar
rednecklaura rednecklaura is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 3,192
If you are haveing problems with the chat room, it could be that your computer is not keeping up with the new software they use.. I think they upgrade this pretty regular... So would not be a bad idea too go and upgrade it on your computer..... Just click on the GET IT NOW button on this link... http://www.java.com/en/index.jsp
__________________
I CAN ONLY PLEASE ONE PERSON A DAY...
TODAY IS NOT YOUR DAY..
AND TOMORROW DOESNT LOOK GOOD EITHER!!!!!!!

YFIS LAURA

www.geocities.com/rednecklaura
www.geocities.com/Outlaw_Laura

Last edited by rednecklaura; 10-31-2004 at 08:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright 2000-2008, GameRooster.com